5 replies to this topic

#1 pitkon

pitkon

Administrator

• Head Administrator
  • 1,333 posts
  • LocationAthens & Nafplio, Greece

Posted 15 June 2015 - 09:10 AM

Again, here's an artist that doesn't need any special introductions.

Reknown for her work in the field of Science Fiction Art - among others - Casperium has regaled us with some great wallpapers and she has received more awards and recommendations than I can recite.

Attached File  The Dancing Nebula WS.jpg   1.81MB   1 downloads

Here is some info about herself, in her own words:

"My name is Ali Ries, age 60, and I live in Salem, OR. USA with my husband. I have 2 grown kids and 2 grandchildren. I am semi retired, my background is Nursing, and while I do not practice Nursing anymore, my life is far from boring. I do graphics, specifically Space Art, that can be seen on a myriad of book covers, mostly Star Trek, merchandise of all types, on TV, in movies."

Attached File  Brilliance by Ali Ries 2012.jpg   2.73MB   1 downloads

When did you start working on graphics? What were your influences?

I started doing graphics way back in 2000, mostly collages and manipulations using other peoples stocks etc. Eventually I bought some apps/software like Bryce and Poser and started doing my own art, abstracts, people, landscapes etc. although not really Space art at that time. Later I got Mojoworld and was able do extraterrestrial planetary scenes. In 2003 I joined deviantart and some friends told me about fractals and Apophysis. I did regular fractals for a while until I figured out that many of my fractals looked like clouds and nebulae. From there I developed my own techniques and have been doing Space Art since about 2006.

What course did you follow in your artistic endeavors? (Conventional, traditional, digital art etc.)

I think you could say that I got started in college with Design classes and Photography, then went to computer graphics.