17 replies to this topic

#1 pitkon

pitkon

Administrator

• Head Administrator
  • 1,333 posts
  • LocationAthens & Nafplio, Greece

Posted 02 February 2014 - 07:06 AM

OK, so this is my wish list for future BB builds I put down some time ago and I expect to add to it from time to time. Some may think that some of the items may beat Blackbox's main purpose of simplicity and minimalism, but I am an eye-candy person who used Litestep from 1998 to 2001, so old habits are hard to break. And I am a style author, which means I'd like to have more and more tools at my disposal. Besides, as I say to anyone who objects, "Turn everything off, man, but the elements you wish to keep". That's another or Blackbox's peculiarities and strong points. My point is, if we don't keep rolling, we may gather some moss...

1)   Spherical elements (curved toolbar, menus etc.)

I think this is pretty obvious.

2)   GFX files option for decorations (toolbar background, menu background, menu.title background, window skin background etc. a la Fluxbox/Openbox).

Hundreds of examples in Litestep configurations, where a graphic file serves as systembar/menu background. There was even an attempt to use bitmaps on Blackbox 2 (remember that one?) If not, I can post the build here. Even Fluxbox/Openbox can use bitmaps as backgrounds for various box elements. Keep in mind pixmaps.

3)   Gradient borders (border.appearance)

ALL gradients already used in BBClean XZ and other modern builds. (Split gradients, verticals, pyramid, pipecross, diagonal etc. – the works, with color/colorsplitto/colorto/colorsplitto options). I am expecting a border that would make frames (toolbar, menus, windows, bbi frames) look even better and with a clever combination of border and frame colors would radically change the look.

4)   Border shadow