Jump to content


Photo

bbzero and Windows 10

bbzero windows 10 problems titlebar firefox apps volume menu style

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Mez

Mez

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 May 2017 - 06:55 PM

So I've just started using bbzero again, first time using it on windows 10.

I've noticed that there are some problems I can't seem to lauch the windows settings with Win+i or any of the other windows shortcuts except for Win+e. I don't know if this is intended behaviour or that it might be fixed in a future release, it's not the end of the world so I dont mind too much. It's only a bit annoying since i use the microsoft mail client to check my email. Well they don't only not work through the hotkeys they don't start at all.

 

Other than that I've noticed that I cant use my volume keys nor can I click on the volume icon in the bbleanbar, systembarex or iconbox. I can click on other icons such as steam buit not the default windows ones.

 

I was also wondering if there still is no fix for using bbleanskin with firefox as it does look quite out of place without it.

 

And a small thing about the style I'm using it has a large black bar at the bottom of the menus.

Attached File  Capture.JPG   15.3KB   1 downloads

I can't find where to remove it, so if someone knows that would be great.

Thanks.



#2 molecube

molecube

    werkkzeuger

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 05 May 2017 - 04:50 PM

Hi Mez,

 

these problems are known and being worked on for the next release of bbZero.

 

I for one know of no solution to Windows software not starting (for example the Edge Browser - see this thread: http://blackbox4wind...ge-not-working/) but regarding the sound- and volume panels there have been suggested some fixes. The easiest way of getting to these settings are those two files which you can run via Win+R or by a shortcut created with bbInterface:

mmsys.cpl

SndVol.exe

 

Firefox and bbLeanSkin don't work well together, that's right. There's an exclude file where you simply write "firefox.exe" in a new empty line and restart bbZero and firefox. Firefox won't be styled by then anymore but at least it won't look buggy anymore either.

 

Regarding the black bar, I have no idea what the problem might be but if you upload the style file for us we can check if it's the style or maybe another bug.

 

Hope I could help.



#3 Mez

Mez

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 May 2017 - 05:43 PM

Ok pretty much what I awaited as a response, really looking forward to someday when firefox can be skinned like normally. The other stufff there are always some type of workaround for it. Anyways the new build should bring some much needed imporovement.

Here is the bbStyle, so it would be lovely someone could check it for faults.

! Automagically generated by bbstylemaker

! style info

style.name: nightBlue-new
style.author: PovRayMan (prm@indecisions.org)
style.date: Saturday Feb 22nd 2003
style.credits: I used NC-17's ember as a template!
style.comments: I <3 Boobies

! ---------------------------------------- toolbar ------

toolbar.appearance: flat solid solid
toolbar.backgroundColor: #08313d
toolbar.textColor: #6d838e
toolbar.font: Roboto Medium
toolbar.fontHeight: 16
toolbar.alignment: center

toolbar.button.appearance: parentrelative
toolbar.button.foregroundColor: #6d838e

toolbar.button.pressed.appearance: flat solid solid
toolbar.button.pressed.foregroundColor: #ffffff
toolbar.button.pressed.backgroundColor: #006699
toolbar.button.marginWidth: 0

! alternative label
toolbar.label.appearance: flat solid solid
toolbar.label.textColor: #6d838d
toolbar.label.marginWidth: 0
toolbar.label.backgroundColor: #08313d

! alternative windowLabel
toolbar.windowLabel.appearance: flat solid solid
toolbar.windowLabel.backgroundColor: #455a64
toolbar.windowLabel.textColor: #f2f2f2

! alternative clock
toolbar.clock.appearance: flat solid solid
toolbar.clock.backgroundColor: #08313d
toolbar.clock.textColor: #6d838d

! ---------------------------------------- menu ---------

menu.title.appearance: raised bevel2 solid solid border
menu.title.backgroundColor: #084860
menu.title.textColor: #6d838e
menu.title.font: Roboto Medium
menu.title.fontHeight: 16
menu.title.alignment: center
menu.title.borderColor: #000000
menu.title.borderWidth: 1
menu.title.marginWidth: 5

menu.frame.appearance: flat solid solid border
menu.frame.backgroundColor: #f2f2f2
menu.frame.textColor: #1b1b1b
menu.frame.font: Roboto Medium
menu.frame.fontHeight: 13
menu.frame.alignment: left
menu.frame.disabledColor: #000000
menu.frame.foregroundColor: #1d1d1d
menu.frame.borderColor: #000000
menu.frame.borderWidth: 1
menu.frame.marginWidth: 0

menu.active.appearance: flat solid solid
menu.active.backgroundColor: #f2f2f2
menu.active.textColor: #455a64
menu.active.foregroundColor: #455a64
menu.active.marginWidth: 7

menu.bullet: triangle
menu.bullet.position: right
menu.grip.appearance: flat horizontal gradient
menu.grip.color1: #000000
menu.grip.color2: #000000
menu.grip.foregroundColor: #000000
menu.grip.textColor: #000000
menu.grip.disabledColor: #000000
menu.grip.font: 
menu.grip.alignment: left
menu.separator.margin: 0
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color1: #000000
menu.separator.color: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.backgroundColor: #000000
menu.separator.shadowColor: #000000

! ---------------------------------------- window -------

window.font: Roboto Medium
window.fontHeight: 16
window.alignment: center

window.button.focus.appearance: flat solid solid
window.button.focus.foregroundColor: #6d838d
window.button.focus.backgroundColor: #08313d

window.button.unfocus.appearance: flat solid solid
window.button.unfocus.backgroundColor: #08313d
window.button.unfocus.foregroundColor: #6d838d

window.button.pressed.appearance: sunken solid solid
window.button.pressed.backgroundColor: #08313d
window.button.pressed.foregroundColor: #f2f2f2
window.button.marginWidth: 0

window.grip.focus.appearance: flat solid solid
window.grip.focus.backgroundColor: #08313d

window.grip.unfocus.appearance: flat solid solid border
window.grip.unfocus.backgroundColor: #000000
window.grip.unfocus.borderColor: #08313d
window.grip.unfocus.borderWidth: 4

window.handle.focus.appearance: flat solid solid
window.handle.focus.backgroundColor: #08313d

window.handle.unfocus.appearance: flat solid solid border
window.handle.unfocus.backgroundColor: #666666
window.handle.unfocus.borderColor: #08313d
window.handle.unfocus.borderWidth: 4

window.label.focus.appearance: flat solid solid
window.label.focus.backgroundColor: #08313d
window.label.focus.textColor: #f2f2f2

window.label.unfocus.appearance: parentrelative
window.label.unfocus.textColor: #6d838d
window.label.marginWidth: 0

window.title.focus.appearance: flat solid solid
window.title.focus.backgroundColor: #08313d

window.title.unfocus.appearance: flat solid solid border
window.title.unfocus.backgroundColor: #08313d
window.title.unfocus.borderColor: #08313d
window.title.unfocus.borderWidth: 4
window.title.marginWidth: 1

window.frame.focus.borderColor: #08313d
window.frame.unfocus.borderColor: #08313d

! ---------------------------------------- other --------

window.handleHeight: 0
window.frame.borderWidth: 4

!-- lost & found --
window.label.focus.font: snap
window.label.focus.alignment: center
toolbar.marginWidth: 0


rootCommand: 
slit.appearance: raised diagonal gradient border
slit.color1: #006699
slit.color2: #050505
slit.foregroundColor: #ffffff
slit.textColor: #ffffff
slit.disabledColor: #90a7b2
slit.borderColor: #000000
slit.borderWidth: 1
slit.marginWidth: 0
slit.font: 
slit.alignment: center

Thanks for clearing some stuff up :)



#4 crowmag

crowmag

    bbDinosaur

  • VIP Member
  • 81 posts

Posted 06 May 2017 - 12:18 PM

I was also wondering if there still is no fix for using bbleanskin with firefox as it does look quite out of place without it.


I have mentioned this before but, apparently, people just can't live without the "modern" Firefox theme. My solution is to install the "Classic Theme Restorer" FF extension.

Once you have that configured, you can also change FF's menu bar background using a 3000 x 200 pixel PNG image (MUST be this size) and set the menu bar font color using the "Personas Plus" extension.

See the screen shot.
 

And a small thing about the style I'm using it has a large black bar at the bottom of the menus.


The black bar is because you have "Grips" enabled for the menus.

"Grips" are also not defined in the style correctly, the style is using black (#000000) for all parts. You can either disable "Grips" (what I usually do...) or define "Grips" correctly in your style.

Example:
 

! -------- menus --------
! default color is "menu.frame.textColor"
menu.separator.color:                  #91c2f9
! the menu separator width (dist. from frame)
menu.separator.margin:                 13

menu.grip.appearance:                  flat solid border
menu.grip.backgroundColor:             #2c3749
menu.grip.textColor:                   #dadada
menu.grip.alignment:                   center
menu.grip.foregroundColor:             #91c2f9
menu.grip.disabledColor:               #9e9e9e
menu.grip.marginWidth:                 1
menu.grip.font:                        RobotoCondensed-Light
menu.grip.fontHeight:                  12
menu.grip.fontWeight:                  normal

Or, you can do both (what I usually do...). See the screen shot for a visual of a styled Grip.

Attached Files



#5 Mez

Mez

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 07 May 2017 - 12:01 AM

 

I have mentioned this before but, apparently, people just can't live without the "modern" Firefox theme. My solution is to install the "Classic Theme Restorer" FF extension.

Once you have that configured, you can also change FF's menu bar background using a 3000 x 200 pixel PNG image (MUST be this size) and set the menu bar font color using the "Personas Plus" extension.

I wasn't aware of this fix, but I'll probably not use it as I'm not a bit fan of using addons that will be deprecated fairly soon. I also feel that it adds a lot of bloat to the interface that I'll have to remove anyways.

 

Anyways thanks for the help withn fixing grips, had no idea what grips were.



#6 tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 08 May 2017 - 01:14 PM

What makes you thing CTR adds bloat? It's exactly the opposite...



#7 Mez

Mez

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 May 2017 - 11:32 PM

What makes you thing CTR adds bloat? It's exactly the opposite...

Maybe bloat is the wrong word, I just feel like it gives me a lot of stuff that I'm not interessested in.



#8 Ritz

Ritz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 21 May 2017 - 03:08 PM

https://github.com/sirWest/AudioSwitch

 

I would give this a try, it sits on your system tray and lets you swap between your audio devices and control their volume easily.  It also has an optional volume indicator that you can put anywhere on the screen to have pop up when you adjust the digital volume by say your keyboard.  You can color code the tray icon based on what output you're using.  It lets me quickly switch between my Sound Blaster Z/USB Dac/DisplayPort(cheapo speakers on monitor output) which I do often.  

 

It is better then the win+r trick, and the standard windows volume button.

 

 

Edge + all UWP apps not functioning properly is an issue with windows shell not loading more then it is anything blackbox can fix.  For instance Blackbox uses a trick to output a desktop wallpaper post Vista (or Post XP, I forgot when the functionality was broken for a bit)  Critical services just don't load since they are coded to start with windows shell.  Its a 'for better or worst' situation. Since blackbox runs in a strange environment there are other little oddities you might notice (like the rare application creating its runtime files in your bbzero directory rather then where it is supposed to,   like they run in different dimensions).  

 

I think the easiest way to fix this would be to allow blackbox to run on top of windows, right now windows hotkey doesn't work if you try to run that way.  Only other way would be to find a way to force load the critical components required for the UWP environment.  Just the most obvious things below that don't start with BBzero set to shell.

 

0E5lTJN.png



#9 Mez

Mez

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 May 2017 - 09:44 PM

Edge + all UWP apps not functioning properly is an issue with windows shell not loading more then it is anything blackbox can fix.  For instance Blackbox uses a trick to output a desktop wallpaper post Vista (or Post XP, I forgot when the functionality was broken for a bit)  Critical services just don't load since they are coded to start with windows shell.  Its a 'for better or worst' situation. Since blackbox runs in a strange environment there are other little oddities you might notice (like the rare application creating its runtime files in your bbzero directory rather then where it is supposed to,   like they run in different dimensions).  

 

I think the easiest way to fix this would be to allow blackbox to run on top of windows, right now windows hotkey doesn't work if you try to run that way.  Only other way would be to find a way to force load the critical components required for the UWP environment.  Just the most obvious things below that don't start with BBzero set to shell.

 

It would be lovely to just run it on top of explorer since that displays the proper volume control and all that stuff but running it that way wont allow me to use bbLeanSkin, which is one of the big reasons I want to run bbZero. But I'm going to look into some way of force loading and hopefully I get somewhere.



#10 Ritz

Ritz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 22 May 2017 - 03:33 AM

Just load process explorer(windows official https://technet.micr...ssexplorer.aspx) and save the list with BBzero Shell enabled and disabled to get an idea of whats missing.  I've tried to load some of those files, like runtimebroker but most of them wouldn't stick and prolly require some sort of input.  Would definitely prefer partial loading then a fully loaded explorer which would just come to the same issue or if say the new generation bbzero came out and fixed the issue over explorer you'de loose out on some of the snap as well as a disjointed system tray.

 

Needless to say my experimentation yielded no results.  But I also don't have enough knowledge to go much further then the surface. (wouldn't know where to begin)

 

That said, I am unsure if you'll ever get the volume tray to work as it does normally.  That third party program works the same from the tray and is significantly better (you can disable the standard icon) then the built in volume manager merely because it allows far more control over your audio devices.  My dac is not on atm because amp issues but I usually have a bit more to this list.

 

DtyZ2iC.png


  • pitkon likes this

#11 Mez

Mez

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 23 May 2017 - 12:07 AM

Downloaded and tried AudioSwitcher now and it's pretty much exactly what i wanted.
Only thing missing is a way to move the on click window as it appears right in the middle of my two monitors.

If someone who's a better dev than me can get that to work that would be awesome, when I tried the hover over box became black.

Going to file a bug report about it but, seeing as his last update was 7 months ago it might take a while to get done.

EDIT: Made a fork that makes is so that you can choose where the onClick box appears, no installer or anything but it should work.


Edited by Mez, 24 May 2017 - 07:36 AM.


#12 Ritz

Ritz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 26 May 2017 - 10:52 AM

Thought you might like it once you got around to using it.  



#13 vort3

vort3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 December 2017 - 05:54 PM

(you can disable the standard icon)

 
How do you do that?

 

UPD: I just realised you can ctrl+rclick tray and disable any icons. Sorry for being dumb.


Edited by vort3, 06 December 2017 - 05:05 PM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: bbzero, windows 10, problems, titlebar, firefox, apps, volume, menu, style

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users